Breaking Boards and Looking Cute – Standard Lurantis GX/Lugia EX/Garbodor

Lurantis GX is the real deal, guys.

So, I have a couple things to errata about my last article because I was clearly too tired to think properly. For clarification purposes, Lurantis GX is not a Stage 2. It is a Stage 1. I will be making changes there as soon as I post this one. Sorry for that mess. ^^;;

Now, back to what I was originally going to start with, I had planned to have this article be based around Umbreon GX and just how insanely similar it is to Darkrai EX from Dark Explorers (if you need a reminder: Night Spear), but as I read and talked on Pokebeach today, I came to a sudden realization that this deck needed to be talked about first. If you don’t already know, the idea of Lurantis GX and Vileplume AOR has been circulating quite a bit recently. It focuses on a lot of what we talked about in my last article (sans Shiinotic sadly), utilizing Forest of Giant Plants to capitalize on the fact that you can quickly Item Lock and set up Lurantis after Lurantis afterwards. Well, as fine and awesome as I find VileLock (if you read my last article, you will know exactly how much I love the thing by this point), I feel that it relies a bit too much on things like RNG and can be countered by things like Hex Maniac a bit too easily. Plus, you have to build a deck around VileLock because it locks out your items as well, which is a massive pain. So, as I sat here thinking about what else could partner with Lurantis, I came to the realization that I had already answered that question in my last article with the following line in regards to Lurantis and Shiinotic:

“Plus, it’s not nearly as vulnerable to Garbodor as the other strategies previously mentioned are.”

If Lurantis GX isn’t affected by GarboLock, why not use GarboLock with Lurantis GX? That realization hit me so hard that I decided to scrap writing my Umbreon GX Deck Tech for this bad boy (Umbreon GX will be the next one, I promise. Sorry Eevee lovers.). It does something just as annoying as Vileplume Lock, which is that it takes away something extremely important from most Opponents, while being less clunky overall. Plus, the biggest difference between Garbodor and Vileplume is that Garbodor shuts down things like Volcanion EX from doing anything horribly nasty to you without a very well placed Lysandre, which is amazing considering that deck already hits hard and hits for Weakness as well. With all of that in mind, I felt that this needed to be discussed sooner than later.

Without further ado, I present to you what is probably my favorite deck of the format up to this point. Here is the list I have come up with:

Pokemon – 16
4 Fomantis SM1
4 Lurantis GX
2 Lugia EX
2 Trubbish BKP
2 Garbodor BKP
1 Tauros GX
1 Shaymin EX

Supporter/Item/Stadium – 33
4 Professor Sycamore
3 N
2 Lysandre
1 Team Flare Grunts
1 Pokemon Ranger

4 VS Seeker
4 Ultra Ball
3 Float Stone
2 Trainers’ Mail
2 Assault Vest
2 Max Elixir
1 Enhanced Hammer
1 Super Rod

2 Parallel City
1 Silent Lab

Energy – 11
11 Grass Energy

I love everything about this deck. It gives me everything I would want in a strategy. Energy accelerator? Check. Something that scales well? Check. Something that kills off opposing Stadiums? Check. Something that locks my opponent out somehow? Check. Something that is going to be extremely frustrating to play against and is consistent at the same time? You better believe it. Something that isn’t named Yveltal EX? Well… you can argue. x3

Because Lurantis GX allows you to accelerate any Basic Energy on to any of your Pokemon, we get away with playing one of my favorite Techs in the game: Lugia EX. This card does so much for this deck it’s not fair in some regards. Because Lurantis GX realistally only needs 1 Energy to get started and 2 more in Discard Pile to really get rolling, the rest of the energy can be stored on to something else. That’s where the Best Legendary comes in. Since you’re only devoting a realistic total of 1 Energy to Lurantis GX, any other Energy you desire can be placed on to Lugia EX, who scales very well per Energy attached. Because of this, I have decided to include a generous 11 Grass Energy. That way, you can, at a maximum, only devote 4 Grass Energy to 4 Different Lurantis GX and still have a whopping 7 Basic Energy to attach to Lugia EX, who at a minimum with his first attack, Aero Ball, will do a massive 140 damage. Also, before I forget to mention, Lugia scales off of your Opponent’s Active Pokemon’s Energy as well, meaning you will be hitting for very mean numbers as an average, even without maximizing on potential Energy. His second attack is the other reason I love Lugia EX so much as a card. Deep Hurricane forces a Stadium Discard and, if successful, allows you to do 150 Damage instead of the initial 80. This is extremely important to note because if you accelerate Lugia EX via Lurantis GX to this attack, you will have to use Flower Supply, Lurantis’ accelerating attack, twice (we will get to the uses of Lurantis GX in a moment). That means that at a minimum, you will be producing 80 Damage. Now, let’s do some basic math right here:

80 + 150 = 230

230 Knocks out things like Yveltal EX with a Fighting Fury Belt, M Mewtwo Y, Volcanion EX with a Fighting Fury Belt, and most of what we all anticipate the Meta is going to be with the exception of the Main Starters, who only need a small breeze to take care of afterwards (Ironically, another Flower Supply will take care of all three of them, which means you gain even more Energy Acceleration). Finally, just to make this very clear, Lugia EX will not be affected by Assault Vest, which we run in here for a few reasons (I’ll talk about that in a bit as well), meaning these numbers, unless otherwise affected, are true.

That all said, Lurantis GX itself is no joke, either. 40 damage for an Energy Accelerating attack that lets you put the Basic Energy anywhere you want is insane and if that isn’t enough for you, the Flower provides two other attacks that are worth noting. The first attack is Solar Blade. At first, I was a little hesitant on how good this was until I realized it does 120 damage for 3 Energy. Normally, this would be 3 Attachments, BUT since Lurantis doesn’t give no whatnots about the rules or your Opponent’s opinions/tears, it can literally set this attack up on its first attacking turn for the next turn. This is astronomically powerful considering also has 210 HP and the attack heals off 30 damage. I simply can’t see how one could ask for much more without making this card absolutely broken. This leads to me to its GX attack, or what I like to call “The End”. Remember how I went on that long praise-fest about Lugia about three minutes or so ago (depending on how fast you read)? The Seagull has noting on this attack. Chloroscythe GX scales for each Grass Energy attached to Lurantis, except it does x50 instead of x20. In other words, if you want something Knocked Out, it’s going to be Knocked Out. I can already anticipate someone using this on Stream for game and I will say that the feeling both excites me and makes me sick. The whole card design is just so flawless without being absolutely broken that I’m honestly proud of TPCi from a Top Tier Competitive perspective. That said, for anyone playing casually who runs in to this deck, I apologize ahead of time.

I talked a tiny bit about GarboLock earlier and in my other article, so I’ll briefly go over it here. Its main purpose in this deck is to slow down Volcanion decks, who are still a threat for the most part. Lugia does have something to say about that in a lot of regards, but still, including Garbodor doesn’t hurt you in the least, so why would you not? Another thing I’d like to talk about briefly, though I don’t feel is necessarily needed, is Tauros GX. I figured I’d include him because he’s another easily accelerated Pokemon who can both apply pressure and do a large amount of damage in the correct situations. His GX attack is also extremely lethal, so keep that in mind if/when you utilize the card. Worst case, if you don’t like Tauros GX, you can always opt for a 2nd Shaymin EX, who we all know is very good.

Now, I want to touch on something I included in this list that people may or may not agree with, which is perfectly fine as these deck techs are meant for knowledge purposes. I personally included Assault Vest to anticipate some of the older decks in the Format and to give Garbodor another tool to play around with. If, for some reason, Special Energy start becoming less and less of a thing, I personally feel that 2 Fighting Fury Belt are a great replacement until something else pops up. That said, I think Assault Vest will still have a lot of uses moving forward, but we will simply have to see where the Meta goes. If this deck does become the Meta, then obviously Assault Vest may not be nearly as useful, so do keep things like Fighting Fury Belt in mind as well. Another thing I will touch on is my inclusion of Team Flare Grunts and only 1 Enhanced Hammer. I included these in the same sense as Assault Vest, only including 1 Enhanced Hammer because Assault Vest does rely on Special Energy (though, if you see a good opportunity to play the hammer, drop the hammer on them foos), which is to slow your Opponent down. After all, if he hits you for 40 less, or in the case of Energy Denial, stops hitting you, then you’re going to have a great time with this deck. I feel that Lurantis GX is one of those strategies that becomes more and more scary the more time you give it and it can do so exceptionally quickly. Finally, I want to briefly talk about Pokemon Ranger in this deck. If Primarina GX decks decide to include more than 1 Glaceon (and they really should), then you will have issues. Pokemon Ranger is one of the best solutions for those issues and so I decided to include it in the initial list. If you aren’t worried about Primarina GX in your Meta, then you can drop it for something else of your leisure.

Besides that, I think everything else is pretty standard when it comes to card choices. To summarize this whole thing, I personally feel that Lurantis GX is going to (and realistically should) be a defining threat in this upcoming Meta. The card does so much in this game when it comes to sustain, damage, and acceleration and given the options we currently have, I wouldn’t be surprised if it takes Anaheim (assuming Anaheim is Standard. I can’t remember at the moment). If you’re looking to try something new and fast, I would highly recommend this.

I hope you all enjoyed this article. I honestly had a blast writing this one out and I’m very excited to see what the Pros bring to the table! If you guys go in to the Tournament Circuit, I wish you all well and I hope my articles help you prepare just a bit more.

This is Asmer, signing off. Always keep a cool head and remember to keep the High Tide on the Flipside!

-Asmer

Leave a Reply

